Current Status: Campus OPEN
X symbol to close out of alert module
Apply Now
Contact Us

Faculty, Staff Honored With Annual Awards

Posted by Angie DiSalvo Wednesday, Jun. 7, 2017

Four Nebraska Methodist College faculty and staff were honored with awards last month during the All-College Forum.

Outstanding Staff Member of the Year Award

Michael SchweikertMichael Schweikert received the Outstanding Staff Member of the Year Award, which is given annually to a staff member who touches the college experience in different ways. The award recognizes outstanding contributions in a co-curricular, support or administrative function that helps to engage the student experience.

Schweikert is the Food Service Manager and is always serving up warm smiles along with food and drinks at the Deja Blue Café.

Ruth Berggren Elliott Master Teacher Award

Dr. Melissa KimmerlingDr. Melissa Kimmerling received the Ruth Berggren Elliott Master Teacher Award, which is given annually to a faculty member who demonstrates excellence in teaching as determined by students. Winners must demonstrate teaching effectiveness, student engagement, communication and a positive learning environment.

Kimmerling is the director for the Occupational Therapy program, which launched in Fall 2016.

Exemplary Teacher Award,
United Methodist Church: General Board of Higher Education and Ministry

Lori Shaw-WarrenLori Shaw-Warren received the Exemplary Teacher Award, which recognizes an NMC faculty member who has made outstanding contributions to the learning arts and to the institution as determined by students. This award helps to express the church’s support of and appreciation for faculty who have demonstrated exemplary leadership, excellence in teaching, service to students and commitment to education.

Shaw-Warren is an assistant professor in the nursing program and currently teaches in the didactic and clinical portions of NRS 350, Community and Mental Health nursing.

Faculty Senate Peer Recognition Award

Dr. Heather HenrichsDr. Heather Henrichs received the Faculty Senate Peer Recognition Award, which is given to a NMC faculty member based on excellence in teaching and/or service and scholarship as determined by members of the Faculty Senate General Assembly.

Henrichs, an Arts & Sciences associate professor, served as the Faculty Senate president 2015-2017 and has been a member of the assembly since 2009.

Congratulations to all of this year’s award winners!

Topics: campus life, faculty spotlight

About the Author

Featured Blog Articles

Learn the latest information about the education, trends and news within nursing and allied health.